The South West Province was erected in 1991. It was created by bifurcating the large province of Visakhapatnam. This South West Province consists of the two states of Karnataka and Kerala in India, the Francophone countries of Chad and Cameroon in Africa and the Philippines. The province which began with 52 priests, two brothers and a few scholastics and candidates in 1991 has grown into a large one with 148 priests, 2 brothers, 94 scholastics and over a hundred candidates to date.

The first Provincial, Fr. Thomas Cherukat took over the administration of the Province on 3rd July 1991. With all the initial difficulties he with his long vision and undying zeal built it up into a strong and vibrant province remaining at the helm of affairs of the province for three consecutive terms of three years as provincial. During his tenure many new missions were opened and the existing ones were stabilized. The missions in Philippines and West Central Africa were opened in 1993 and 1999 respectively.

On 3rd July, 2000 the baton of animating the province and its administration was handed over to the second and incumbent provincial Fr. Jose Parappillil. He completed two terms in office and under his able and dynamic leadership the Province grew into newer and greater heights day by day. He guided the whole province community into greater dynamism, activity and a deep zeal for the mission of the Congregation and the Church.

Fr. Mathew Kozhuppkkalam was elected as the third provincial on the 3rd July 2006. Under his able leadership the Province expanded and stabilized its mission and ministry. He with his hard work and enthusiasm successfully guided the province and created a true fransalian spirit of mission in the province.

Fr. Abraham Vettuvelil was appointed as the fourth provincial of the South-West India Province of the MSFS on 16th May, 2011 and he took charge officially as the new Provincial on 12th June, 2011, on the Solemnity of Pentecost. Fr. Abraham effectively guided and animated the Province in carrying out its various apostolates.

He was elected as the as the 14th Superior General of the Congregation at the 19th ordinary General Chapter 2013.

Fr Jose Kumblolickal was appointed as the Fifth Provincial of the Province. During his time, the Province strengthened many of the existing missions and minsitries.

Fr Benni Gregoriose Kootanal was appointed as the Sixth Provincial of the Province He took charge officially as the new Provincial on Jan 24, 2016, on the Feast of the Patron St Francis de Sales.